Power Politics by Margaret Atwood

The poetry collection, Power Politics by Margaret Atwood was first published in 1971 by House of Anansi Press. The poems take on relationships. Not all of the poems have titles, but the ones that do give you a sense of a relationship. There are three sections and each section begins with four powerful lines.

In the first section, the poems are about relationships between people.

There is great imagery and some great lines in the poems.

In the second section, the poems could be about government and systemic power, war and the people who support that.

The third section is about the aftermath of misused power and war.

This collection of poetry has a different vibe than Atwood's earlier poetry, but they have the same intensity, a bit of humour and the themes are still relevant today.

Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue with the next season. It begins by introducing us to the chara